Open slot for pro bono Knowledge Management work.

I am inviting applications for prospective organisations to fill a vacant slot in my calendar of pro bono work.

Interested parties should contact me via LinkedIn and submit a brief explanative text that details the organisation’s mission, social value, and culture.

What is in it for you?

You get up to 10 hrs of free expert time per month from a pretty hot KM expert to cover issues of knowledge management, organisational learning, and intellectual asset management. You gain access to knowledge and opinion that would otherwise require stress to your budget, and you are under no obligation to use my opinions if you care not to.

You may unlock hundreds of millions of dollars of intellectual assets, or increase productivity significantly, or even just get a shoulder to cry on about how frustrating life is when you don’t know who knows what and what knowledge is crucial to your organisation’s survival.

… or maybe not.

You may find that I have nothing of value for your organisation – but then you didn’t have to fork out several thousand dollars to find that out, and we can go our separate ways with no harm to either.

What is in it for me?

I wish I could say this was all entirely altruistic, but that isn’t what this is about.
What I get out of this is working on problems or issues that I find interesting and in market areas far from my home ground. I get to add a good affiliation to my portfolio, and puff up my resume by one more breath.
Something else I get is to try out my ideas on a wider audience, and to get feedback that can be used for my own ongoing professional development.

Finally, I get that dual kick of neurotransmitters in my central nervous system that one has when doing something that one is passionate about, do well, and which has socially-beneficial outcomes.

I like feeding my passion.

What you need to look like

You need to have social value, first and foremost, and you cannot be in the same domain as my employer.
If I don’t like what you do, or how you behave in the social commons, then I am not interested in helping you be better at that. Typically you are a healthcare institution, a research organisation, or something else that works to the benefit of the environment, society, and so on.

You need to have an interesting problem regarding Knowledge Management in its broadest sense.
If I can’t find an interesting problem then I can’t be of any help and neither of us will benefit.

You can be pretty much anywhere on the planet, but it helps if you can pay for travel once in a while so we can read each other’s body language and interact like the real humans we are. I don’t need first-class tickets or five-star accommodation.

How this works

You contact me via LinkedIn and send me details of your organisation’s mission, what social benefit it provides, its culture, and what problems you think you have.

There is only one slot open, but I will keep the other applicants in order of interest in case more hours are added to the day, other workload drops off, or I get serious about personal KM and improve my efficiency.

Please show some dignity and respect, don’t send a recruiter, and come prepared.
Look at my online profile and my electronic footprints out there on the net, and qualify yourself out if we aren’t going to be a good match.

We will then need to agree on issues of non-disclosure, what we may make public about the relationship, and how often to be in contact and how.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Matthew Loxton is the director of Knowledge Management & Change Management at Mincom, and blogs on Knowledge Management. Matthew’s LinkedIn profile is on the web, and has an aggregation website at www.matthewloxton.com
Opinions are the author’s and not necessarily shared by Mincom, but they should be.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

